Nova Scotia Lawyers Receive Prestigious Designation

first_imgFourteen lawyers received the honourary title of Queen’s Counsel (Q.C.) for 2017. Justice Minister Diana Whalen announced this year’s appointments today, Feb. 23. The Q.C. designation is awarded each year to members of the legal profession to recognize exceptional merit and outstanding contribution to the legal community. The appointees are: Randall P.H. Balcome, Kentville Sheree Lynn Conlon, Halifax Peter James Craig, Halifax Kathryn M. Dumke, Bridgewater David Gerald Henley, Dartmouth Megan Longley, Halifax Loretta Marie Manning, Halifax Pamela Marche, Sydney Bernard Miller, Halifax Richard W.P. Murphy, Yarmouth Jane O’Neill, Halifax Kathryn A. Raymond, Dartmouth Kelly J. Serbu, Dartmouth Candace L. Thomas, Dartmouth “This designation recognizes the great contributions made by some outstanding Nova Scotia lawyers and their personal and professional commitment to our province,” said Ms. Whalen. “We educate and are served by some of the best lawyers in the country. Nova Scotia is proud of them.” An independent advisory committee makes Queen’s Counsel recommendations to cabinet. In addition to merit and legal contributions, recipients must have demonstrated professional integrity and good character and have served a minimum of 15 years as a member of the bar of Nova Scotia.last_img read more

Read More →